SEMIKRON Innovation and Young Engineer Award 2020

The award targets at projects, prototypes, services and novel concepts developed in Europe, which did not yet appear on the market, which are used in a novel application, or which form an absolute novelty, and therewith fulfil the requirement to be extraordinary and remarkable. Sole project proposals are not in the scope of the call, the innovation should have been verified by experiment or simulation. The degree of innovation has to conform to international standards.

SEMIKRON Foundation and ECPE honour a team from Finland with the Innovation Award 2020 while this year’s Young Engineer Award goes to Johannes Büdel.


Winner of the Semikron Innovation Award 2020
This year the jury has decided to give the SEMIKRON Innovation Award to a research team from Aalto University in Espoo, Finland comprising Prof. Dr. Marko Hinkkanen, Dr. Seppo Saarakkala, Maksim Sokolov and Reza Hosseinzadeh for their joint work on an ´Bearingless Linear Motor Drive for Future Transportation Systems´.

Winner of the Semikron Young Engineer Award 2020
The SEMIKRON Young Engineer Award 2020 goes to Johannes Büdel from Technische Hochschule Aschaffenburg, Germany for his work on a ´Dual Two-Level Inverter for Safe, Reliable and Highly Efficient Operation of Machines with Superconductive Stator Windings´ supervised by Prof. Dr. Johannes Teigelkötter.

PREss Release


All presentations from previous years of the award winners are available in the ECPE members area after login for ECPE Member companies and Competence Centres.


Postal address ECPE e.V.:
ECPE European Center for Power Electronics e.V.
Landgrabenstrasse 94
D-90443 Nuremberg, Germany
Phone: +49 (0)911 81 02 88-0

Subscribe to the ECPE News


© 2018 ECPE European Center for Power Electronics e.V.