08/03/2017 - Winner of the SEMIKRON Innovation Award and SEMIKRON Young Engineer Award 2017

(f.l.t.r) Prof. Leo Lorenz (ECPE), Johannes Kolb (Schaeffler Technologies), Mario Gommeringer (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), Alexander Schmitt (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), Pierrick Ausseresse (Infineon Technologies), Marco Schilling (Ilmenau Technical University), Bettina Martin (SEMIKRON-Stiftung) Quelle: TILMAN WEISHART PHOTOGRAPHY

Winner of the Semikron Innovation Award 2017

This year’s SEMIKRON Innovation Award went to a team of three engineers: Mario Gommeringer, Alexander Schmitt and Johannes Kolb from KIT Karlsruhe. The award-winning team has developed at the Institute of Electricat Engineering of KIT Karlsruhe a new innovative power electronic circuit that will help maximize power output in solar power generators. The new circuit known as the HILEM circuit or “High Efficiency Low Effort MPP Tracking Circuit” can be connected between any number of photovoltaic strings and a common inverter. 

Winner of the Semikron Young Engineer Award 2017

This year’s SEMIKRON Young Engineer Award has gone to two young researchers. The first award winner Pierrick Ausseresse from Infineon Technologies was selected for his work on the development of a new digital IC for use in PC power supplies. The other joint winner of the Young Engineer Award is Marco Schilling from Ilmenau Technical University. Mr Schilling’s award-winning development Opti-PAC is a new, versatile tool for optimum active and passive component selection in automotive power systems such as electric drivetrains or DC/DC converters.

Press Release Semikron Award 2017